home | blog | site map | bookstore travelers | book awards | write to us              24books.org       


more reviews & the like


Vicky's page

movie reviews

what's John reading NOW?

book journals This is a link to all of John's nearly thirty separate book journals that are listed at the bottom of this page.

Here's a quick quick link to the latest books I've read.
    

                    Here are some older book reviews by us, our former staff members, and customers.
                                                         flying reviews            

 

This is my favorite fountain pen that I use to write the first drafts of many of the the reviews
and other creations of mine that you find all over the website. It's my
red Rembrandt
by Visconti.

my Visconti fountain pen


 

Below are my online book journals  

Most entries contain short comments or more complete reviews on the books that I was reading at the time. Some list just the titles, and when I find the time, they will be filled with reviews. Well, that is, until the day I stop reading, as in pass on and away.  John


winters 
WINTERS Journals
We are now spending most of our time in the great little community of Winters. We also make trips down to Oakland to visit family and make our way to the East Bay's fine independent bookstores.

2017
journal #28
— January 7, 2017 to present day - most recent
2016
journal #27
June 13, 2016 to December 31, 2016
journal #26
January 5 to June 7, 2016
2015
journal #25
— September 9, 2015 to December 30, 2015
journal #24
— May 20 to September 9, 2015

journal #23
— January 3 to May 20, 2015
 

WINTERLAND Journals

These are my book reviews of what I was reading while we split our time, a few days a week, between Winters and Oakland. The heat, agriculture, and the lay of the land in the Central Valley is always in stark contrast to the cool, cloudy urban world of the East Bay.

2014

journal #22 June 1, 2014 to December 30, 2014

journal #21 January 27 to May 26, 2014
2013

journal #20September 25, 2013 to January 27, 2014
journal #19 — May 5 to September 20, 2013

journal #18 — January 22 to May 1, 2013
2012

   journal #17 — November 22, 2012 to January 20, 2013 





WinterLAND

seattle
SEATTLE Journals
These are my reviews from the few weeks we living in Seattle. The rain just kept coming down, day after day, after day, after day. We had planned to live there for some time, but things changed and we headed back to the sunny sanity of California.
journal #16
— November 2 to 22, 2012

east bay WINTERS split
EAST BAY / WINTERS SPLIT Journals
These reviews were from a time when we SPLIT our time between places. Most every week we were on Interstate 80 ... moving between the East Bay and the Central Valley city of Winters. There were always a heavy, over-stuffed bag of books moving right along with us
journal #15
July 24 to October 24, 2012
journal #14
— May 8 to July 15, 2012
journal #13
March 15 to May 4, 2012
journal #12
— January 6 to March 8, 2012

east bay revisited
EAST BAY BASEMENT REVISITED Journals
These were my reviews as a newly unemployed bookseller in the East Bay. The big differences, I quickly found, when you don't own, or work in a bookstore — is where you get your books. Oh, civilian life.
2011
journal #11
— October 6, 2011 to January 2, 2012        
journal #10
— August 19 to September 30, 2011
journal #9
June 7 to August 12, 2012                     
journal #8 — April 25 to June 6, 2011
journal #7 — January 2 to April 24, 2011

green hills
GREEN HILLS Journals
These reviews of books are from my time working in Blackhawk/Danville. I read these books while we were opening and managing a great new bookstore, read. booksellers, in Blackhawk. Books demanding to be read, kept getting pulled out of all those boxes of inventory. Christmas seemed to come every day.
2010
journal #6
— September 18 to December 26, 2010     
journal #5
— June 1 to September 16, 2010
journal #4
— February 23 to May 25, 2010

east bay basement
EAST BAY BASEMENT Journals
These are my reviews from Oakland. Our last bookstore had closed and we're looking for work as we explored the bookstores of the East Bay.
2009
journal #3
— August 30, 2009 to February 20, 2010

foothills
FOOTHILLS Journals
Here are my reviews from Placerville. We were in our "reduce the overhead and find profitability mood" — aka, our small bookstore on the Main Street of a Sierra foothill town. It was a special, and haunted, space, but the economy (personal and national) didn't work out for us and we closed down our last bookstore.

journal #2 — January 4 to August 29, 2009                  

2008

journal #1 — September 29 to December 31, 2008

 

                   

                 home | blog | site map | bookstore travelers | book awards | to the top