home | blog | site map | reviews | bookstore travelers | book awards     24books.org
wodehouse award 

Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for Comic Fiction
The Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize was established in 2000. Named in honor of the great P. G. Wodehouse, it is the UK’s only literary award for comic writing. The winner is announced at The Guardian Hay Festival – an annual literary event described by Bill Clinton as “The Woodstock of the mind” – and he or she is presented with a jeroboam of Champagne Bollinger Special Cuvée and a collection of works by P. G. Wodehouse. The winner is announced at the annual Hay Festival in May and is presented with Champagne and 52 volumes of the Everyman Wodehouse edition. In addition, a Gloucester Old Spot pig is also named after the winning novel. Organizers of the prize, pointed out that Wodehouse might be seen as quintessentially English, but the author actually became an American citizen in 1955 and set several of his Jeeves and Wooster titles in the US.

Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse information                            other book awards














2016  (tie) The Improbability of Love - Hannah Rothschild (announced May 25, 2016)

                The Mark and the Void - Paul Murray

2015   Fatty O’Leary’s Dinner Party - Alexander McCall Smith

2014   Lost for Words - Edward St Aubyn

2013   Zoo Time - Howard Jacobson -  first two-time winner

2012   Snuff - Terry Pratchett

2011   Super Sad True Love Story - Gary Shteyngart
2010   Solar - Ian McEwan

2009   Jeff in Venice, Death in Varanasi - Geoff Dyer
2008   The Butt - Will Self
2007   Salmon Fishing in the Yemen - Paul Torday
2006   All Fun and Games until Somebody Loses an Eye - Christopher Brookmyre
2005   A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian - Marina Lewycka
2004   The Well of Lost Plots - Jasper Fforde
2003   Vernon God Little - DBC Pierre
2002   Michael Frayn - Michael Frayn
2001   The Rotters’ Club - Jonathan Coe
2000   The Mighty Walzer - Howard Jacobson

home | blog | site map | reviews | bookstore travelers | book awards | to the top