home | blog | site map | reviews | bookstore travelers | book awards     25books.org
folio prize 

The Rathbones Folio Prize
   The Folio Prize is the first major English language book prize open to writers from around the world. Its aim is simple: to celebrate the best fiction of our time, regardless of form or genre, and to bring it to the attention of as many readers as possible. Through The Folio Prize Academy, an international group of people who write, review and delight in books, it will discover and promote excellence in writing, encouraging people to put great literature at the center of their lives. The Folio Prize is sponsored by The Folio Society, the celebrated publisher of beautiful editions of the world’s greatest books.

   In 2016, the Folio Prize was in a quest for a new sponsor and didn't give an award, but has now relaunched for 2017, with the backing of investment company Rathbone, and a new criterion to distinguish it from the Booker: allowing nonfiction. The winner will be announced at a ceremony on 24 May at the British Library and will receive a check for £20,000.

The Rathbones Folio Prize website                               other book awards


feather The Folio Prize


2017  The Return: Fathers, Sons and the Land in Between - Hisham Matar announced May, 2017)

2016   (As they continue to secure a new sponsor for the Folio Prize, they have decided not to award a Prize in 2016.)

2015   Family Life - Akhil Sharma 

2014   Tenth of December - George Saunders


home | blog | site map | reviews | bookstore travelers | book awards | to the top