home | blog | site map | reviews | bookstore travelers | book awards     24books.org
b Bard Fiction Prize
The Bard Fiction Prize is awarded to a promising, emerging writer who is an American citizen aged 39 years or younger at the time of application. In addition to the monetary award, the winner receives an appointment as writer in residence at Bard College for one semester, without the expectation that he or she teach traditional courses. The recipient gives at least one public lecture and meets informally with students. The creation of the Bard Fiction Prize, presented each October, continues Bard’s long-standing position as a center for creative, groundbreaking literary work by both faculty and students. The prize is intended to encourage and support young writers of fiction to pursue their creative goals and provide an opportunity to work in a fertile and intellectual environment.

Bard College                                other book awards



2017 Karan Mahajan - The Association of Small Bombs (announced 2016)

2016 Alexandra Kleeman - You Too Can Have a Body Like Mine

2015 Laura van den Berg - The Isle of Youth
2014 Bennett Sims - A Questionable Shape
2013 Brian Conn - The Fixed Stars
2012 Benjamin Hale - The Evolution of Bruno Littlemore
2011 Karen Russell - St. Lucy’s Home for Girls Raised by Wolves

2010 Samantha Hunt - The Invention of Everything Else
2009 Fiona Maazel - Last Last Chance
2008 Salvador Plascencia - The People of Paper
2007 Peter Orner - The Second Coming of Mavala Shikongo
2006 Edie Meidav - Crawl Space
2005 Paul La Farge - Haussmann, or the Distinction
2004 Monique Truong - The Book of Salt
2003 Emily Barton - The Testament of Yves Gundron
2002 Nathan Englander - For the Relief of Unbearable Urges: Stories




A home | blog | site map | reviews | bookstore travelers | book awards | to the top