home | blog | site map | reviews | bookstore travelers | book awards     24books.org
BAD SEX  The Literary Review - Bad Sex in Fiction Award
Literary Review is well known for its annual Bad Sex in Fiction Award. Each year since 1993, Literary Review presents the annual Bad Sex in Fiction Award to the author who produces the worst description of a sex scene in a novel. The award itself is in the form of a "semi-abstract trophy representing sex in the 1950s", which depicts a naked woman draped over an open book. The award was originally established by Rhoda Koenig, a literary critic, and Auberon Waugh, then the magazine's editor. The given rationale is "to draw attention to the crude, tasteless, often perfunctory use of redundant passages of sexual description in the modern novel, and to discourage it".

  info on the award                                  other book awards




2016 The Day Before Happiness by Erri De Luca  (announced December 2, 2016)


"She pushed on my hips, an order that thrust me in. I entered her. Not only my prick, but the whole of me entered her, into her guts, into her darkness, eyes wide open, seeing nothing. My whole body had gone inside her. I went in with her thrusts and stayed still. While I got used to the quiet and the pulsing of my blood in my ears and nose, she pushed me out a little, then in again. She did it again and again, holding me with force and moving me to the rhythm of the surf. She wiggled her breasts beneath my hands and intensified the pushing. I went in up to my groin and came out almost entirely. My body was her gearstick."


2015  List of the Lost by Morrissey

2014  The Age of Magic by Ben Okri

2013  The City of Devi by Manil Suri

2012  Infrared by Nancy Huston
2011  Ed King by David Guterson
2010  The Shape of Her by Rowan Somerville


2009  The Kindly Ones by Jonathan Littell
2008  Shire Hell by Rachel Johnson AND a Lifetime Achievement Award to John Updike
2007  The Castle in the Forest by Norman Mailer
2006  Twenty Something by Iain Hollingshead
2005  Winkler by Giles Coren
2004  I Am Charlotte Simmons by Tom Wolfe
2003  Bunker 13 by Aniruddha Bahal
2002  Tread Softly by Wendy Perriam
2001  Rescue Me by Christopher Hart
2000  Kissing England by Sean Thomas


1999  Starcrossed by A. A. Gill
1998  Charlotte Gray by Sebastian Faulks
1997  The Matter of the Heart by Nicholas Royle
1996  The Big Kiss: An Arcade Mystery by David Huggins
1995  Gridiron by Philip Kerr
1994  The Stonebreakers by Philip Hook
1993  A Time to Dance by Melvyn Bragg


A home | blog | site map | reviews | bookstore travelers | book awards | to the top