home | blog | site map | reviews | bookstore travelers | book awards     24books.org
Thurber Prize for American Humor

Thurber Prize for American Humor
The Thurber Prize for American Humor is the only recognition of the art of humor writing in the United States. A panel of national judges selects the three finalists from a selection of seven or eight semi-finalists. Books and eBooks published in 2013 are eligible for the 2014 Thurber Prize. Each year, the winner is announced in New York City. The winner of the prize receives $5,000, a commemorative plaque, and is invited to Thurber House in Columbus, Ohio as a featured guest at a special event.

Thurber Prize website                               other book awards


feather Thurber Prize for American Humor


2016 Harrison Scott Key, The World's Largest Man (announced September 27, 2016)

2015 Julie Schumacher, Dear Committee Members

2014 John Kenney, Truth in Advertising: A Novel
2013 Dan Zevin, Dan Gets a Minivan: Life at the Intersection of Dude and Da
2012 Calvin Trillin, Quite Enough of Calvin Trillin: Forty Years of Funny Stuff
2011 David Rakoff, Half Empty
2010 Steve Hely, How I Became a Famous Novelist

2009 Ian Frazier, Lamentations of the Father
2008 Larry Doyle, I Love You, Beth Cooper
2007 Joe Keenan, My Lucky Star
2006 Alan Zweibel, The Other Shulman
2005 Jon Stewart and the writers of The Daily Show, America (The Book): A Citizen’s Guide to Democracy Inaction
2004 Christopher Buckley, No Way to Treat a First Lady
2001 David Sedaris, Me Talk Pretty One Day

1999 The editors of The Onion, Our Dumb Century: 100 Years of Headlines from America’s Finest News Source
1997 Ian Frazier: Ian Frazier, Coyote v. Acme


home | blog | site map | reviews | bookstore travelers | book awards | to the top