home | blog | site map | reviews | bookstore travelers | book awards     24books.org
ABA Book Awards from the ABA
Over the years since the American Booksellers Association gave out its first book award in 1991, the awards have been given under a number of names, as well in several different categories. Below are listings for most of the awards.

Indies Choice Book Awards website                                                other book awards
  1. Indies Choice Book Awards (2009-2015): adult fiction / adult nonfiction / adult debut / young adult / most engaging author

  2. Book Sense Book of the Year (2000-2008): adult fiction / adult nonfiction / children's literature / children's illustrated

  3. ABBY Book Awards (1993-1999): adult / children's / ABBY



Indies Choice Book Awards

The Indies Choice Book Awards reflect the spirit of independent bookstores nationwide and the IndieBound movement. Book of the Year winners and Honor Award recipients are all titles nominated by ABA member booksellers to the Indie Next Lists.




2017  The Underground Railroad: A Novel - Colson Whitehead 

2016  Fates and Furies: A Novel - Lauren Groff

2015  All the Light We Cannot See - Anthony Doerr

2014  Life After Life: A Novel, - Kate Atkinson

2013  The Round House - Louise Erdrich

2012  The Marriage Plot - Jeffrey Eugenides

2011  Room - Emma Donoghue

2010  Cutting for Stone - Abraham Verghese

2009  The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society - Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows




2017  The Hidden Life of Trees: What They Feel, How They Communicate - Discoveries From a Secret World - Peter Wohlleben

2016  Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates

2015  Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End, by Atul Gawande

2014  The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics, by Daniel James Brown

2013  Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed

2012  Blood, Bones & Butter: The Inadvertent Education of a Reluctant Chef by Gabrielle Hamilton

2011  Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand

2010  The Lost City of Z by David Grann

2009  The Wordy Shipmates by Sarah Vowell




2017  Homegoing: A Novel - Yaa Gyasi

2016  Kitchens of the Great Midwest: A Novel by J. Ryan Stradal

2015  The Martian by Andy Weir

2014   A Constellation of Vital Phenomena: A Novel, by Anthony Marra
2013  The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey

2012  The Tiger’s Wife by Téa Obreht

2011  Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes

2010  The Help by Kathryn Stockett

2009  The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wroblewski




2017  Salt to the Sea - Ruta Sepetys

2016  (tie) Anna and the Swallow Man by Gavriel Savit

                  Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

2015  The Darkest Part of the Forest, by Holly Black

2014  Eleanor & Park: A Novel, by Rainbow Rowell

2013  The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

2012  Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

2011  Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly

2010  Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

2009  The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman




2013  John Green

2012  Ann Patchett

2011  Laurie Halse Anderson

2010  Kate DiCamillo

2009  Sherman Alexie


   ... and before then, it was called

The Book Sense Book of the Year
Independent booksellers' favorite books to hand sell. The Book Sense Book of the Year (BSBY) Awards are now the Indies' Choice Book Awards (ICBAs), reflecting the spirit of independent booksellers and their dedication to hand-selling unique, thought-provoking, and engaging books to eager readers.

The Book Sense Book of the Year Award was inaugurated at BookExpo America 2000. ABA rededicated the award (previously known as the ABBY) in recognition of a new era in bookselling, as well as the important role the Book Sense Picks List has played for independent booksellers in discovering and spreading the word about books of quality to all stores, and readers, nationwide.

Throughout the year, Book Sense independent booksellers from across the country nominate for inclusion in the monthly Book Sense Picks the books that they most enjoyed hand-selling to their customers. The books on each list represent a combined national and local staff pick selection of booksellers' favorites from more than 1,200 independent bookstores with Book Sense.




2008  A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

2007  Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

2006  The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

2005  Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke

2004  The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

2003  The Lovely Bones, by Alice Sebold

2002  Peace Like a River by Leif Enger

2001  The Red Tent by Anita Diamant

2000  The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver




2008  Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life by Barbara Kingsolver

2007  I Feel Bad About My Neck by Nora Ephron

2006  Freakonomics by Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner

2005  Shadow Divers by Robert Kurson

2004  Reading Lolita in Tehran: A Memoir in Books by Azar Nafisi

2003  Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight by Alexandra Fuller

2002  Seabiscuit: An American Legend by Laura Hillenbrand

2001  Brunelleschi's Dome: How a Renaissance Genius Reinvented Architecture by Ross King

2000  no award





2008  The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick

2007  The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

2006   Inkspell by Cornelia Funke

2005  Chasing Vermeer by Blue Balliett, illustrated by Brett Helquist

2004  Eragon: The Inheritance, Book I by Christopher Paolini

2003  The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke

2002  The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares

2001  Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo

2000  The Quiltmaker's Gift by Jeff Brumbeau, illus. by Gail de Marcken





2008  Knuffle Bunny Too: A Case of Mistaken Identity by Mo Willems

2007  Owen & Mzee by Peter Greste

2006  Zen Shorts by Jon J Muth

2005  Duck for President by Doreen Cronin, illustrated by Betsy Lewin

2004  How I Became a Pirate by Melinda Long; illus. by David Shannon

2003  Dear Mrs. LaRue, by Mark Teague

2002  Olivia Saves the Circus by Ian Falconer

2001  Olivia by Ian Falconer

2000  no award

   ... and before then, it was called

American Booksellers Book of the Year (ABBY) Award
The American Booksellers Book of the Year (ABBY) Award was established in 1991 to honor the "hidden treasures" that ABA bookstore members most enjoyed recommending to their customers during the previous year. The children's award was added in 1993. Four ABBY Honor Books also were designated in each category. Starting in 2000, the award was changed to the Booksellers Book of the Year (BSBY) Award.



1999  Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood by Rebecca Wells

1998  Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier

1997  Angela's Ashes: A Memoir by Frank McCourt

1996  Snow Falling on Cedars by David Guterson

1995  Chicken Soup for the Soul by Jack Canfield and Mark Victor Hansen

1994  Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel

1993  The Bridges of Madison County by Robert James Waller




1999  Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. Rowling, illus. by Mary Grandpré

1998  The Hat by Jan Brett

1997  Lilly's Purple Plastic Purse by Kevin Henkes

1996  Guess How Much I Love You by Sam McBratney, illus. by Anita Jeram

1995  The Rainbow Fish by Marcus Pfister

1994  Stellaluna by Janell Cannon

1993  Old Turtle by Douglas Wood, illus. by Cheng-Khee Chee




1992   Brother Eagle, Sister Sky: A Message from Chief Seattle by Susan Jeffers, illus.
1991   The Education of Little Tree by Forrest Carter

A home | blog | site map | reviews | bookstore travelers | book awards | to the top